The French-American Treaty of Alliance, 1778

On March 20, Louis XVI formally accepted “the ambassadors of the Thirteen United Provinces”, the first recognition of the United States as a sovereign nation.  

Read more >
The 1783 peace treaties

On 3rd September 1783, in Paris and Versailles, several peace treaties were signed by the American Congress of Representatives, Great Britain, France and Spain, putting an end to the American War of Independence. A fourth and final treaty was signed on 20th May 1784 between Great Britain and the Provinces. This corpus of texts makes up what is called the “Peace of Paris”.

Laurent Veyssière, paleographer archivist, general heritage curator.
Read more >