Coming from the department of State Buildings of the Egyptian Ministry of Public Works, this collection of 48 photographs provides a panorama of the architecture of the time. Despite its title, all the constructions were situated in Cairo, with the exception of the Collège Saint-Marc in Alexandria, the work of the French architects Léon Azéma, Max Edrei and Jacques Hardy, built in 1928 (n° 17). The album is undated but it must have been put together in the early 1930s. Several of the illustrated buildings were completed in 1931 or 1932, even if some older edifices are also included, such as the Museum of Egyptian Antiquities, the Musée Arabe (now the Museum of Islamic Art) or else the Egyptian government’s reception pavilion for prestigious guests, which were all finished in 1902. Furthermore, in 1931 a different department of the same ministry had prepared a similar document: the “map of the progressive development of the city of Cairo from the year 1800 to our time”, to show the evolution of its urbanisation[1].

Captioned in Arabic and English, the photographs were perhaps meant to appear in an exhibition, for example the 14th Agricultural and Industrial Fair in Cairo in 1931, or its 15th edition, held in 1936.

Above all, the prints present some of the major productions of the department that commissioned the album, which was in charge of the construction and upkeep of public buildings. In particular, they include the Parliament, the symbol of Egyptian sovereignty ever since 1922, when Britain put an end to its protectorate over Egypt, as well as the literature department of the young University of Cairo, the seed bed of the country’s cultural renaissance (Nahda). The collection also allotted pride of place to the monument erected to the memory of the nationalist leader Saad Zaghloul between 1928 and 1931, once more by the same department. The syncretic aesthetic mausoleum (n° 6-9), mixing Egyptian references (in its decor) and Islamic references (in its architectural typology), raised a certain controversy, because of the paganism associated with the religion of the Ancient Egyptians. It was the work of Mustafa Fahmy, a French-trained Egyptian architect who, as of 1928, took on the function of chief architect of state buildings and is considered to be the father of the profession of Egyptian architects. Some of his other productions, in a neo-Islamic style and this time for private clients, are also illustrated in the album (n° 38, 39-41, 43). In general, productions of an historicist nature are heavily represented, reflecting the importance accorded to the question of a national style in architecture, while the Egyptian independence movement was growing. Built in 1924-1927, the head office of the Misr Bank (n° 4) (Misr meaning Egypt) is another, more classicising example of neo-Islamic architecture with a political symbolism, illustrating the growing power of Egyptian capitalism in the service of the development of the national economy, the raison d’être of the banking establishment and of the industrial group to which this orientation gave birth. Finally, there are places of worship, both of them Christian, including the Saint Gregory the Illuminator Church, built in 1924-1927 by the architect Léon Nafilyan for Egypt’s apostolic Armenian community.

The other theme of the album is private construction. Several large residencies, once more in a neo-Islamic style, are documented: that of the Count of Zogheb (n° 21), built in 1898, or a house built in Heliopolis, in the suburbs of Cairo, by the architect Alexandre Marcel in 1908 for the future sultan Hussein Kamel. More unexpectedly, the collection of photos also includes scenes of interiors. These feature several eclectic villas, including both the reception rooms and more intimate salons of the home of the magistrate Mugib Fathy Bey. The decoration of the rooms would not have been out of place in the bourgeois decoration catalogues of the time: cast-iron grates, floral screens, stencilled fleur-de-lys, Chinese knickknacks and hanging rugs. Local colour is supplied by the “Arab salon” (n° 32), which was generally used as a smoking room or boudoir, and which any good home had to have. All these decors were produced by the Egyptian architect Aly Labib Gabr (1898-1966), another pioneer figure, who trained in England, and left his mark on his numerous students at the École Polytechnique of Cairo, where he taught after 1924.
 

Kingdom of Egypt, Ministry of Public works, State buildings department, Photographs of various buildings in Egypt, s.d., 42 planches

[1] EI-182, bnf, Stamps and Photography

Émanant du service des Bâtiments de l’État du ministère égyptien des Travaux publics, ce recueil de 48 photographies offre un panorama de l’architecture contemporaine égyptienne.  En dépit de son titre, toutes les constructions sont situées au Caire, à l’exception du Collège Saint-Marc d’Alexandrie, œuvre des architectes français Léon Azéma, Max Edrei et Jacques Hardy, édifié en 1928 (n° 17).  L’album n’est pas daté mais il a dû être constitué au début des années 1930. Plusieurs des bâtiments illustrés ont été terminés  en 1931 ou 1932, même si des édifices plus anciens figurent également,  tel que le Musée des antiquités égyptiennes, le Musée Arabe (aujourd’hui musée d’art islamique) ou encore le pavillon de réception des hôtes de marque du gouvernement égyptien, tous achevés en 1902. En outre, un autre service du même ministère avait préparé en 1931 un document comparable : la « Carte du développement progressif de la ville du Caire de l’année 1800 à nos jours», pour montrer l’évolution de son urbanisation[1]. Légendées en arabe et en anglais, les photographies étaient peut-être destinées à figurer dans une exposition, par exemple la XIVe Exposition agricole et industrielle du Caire de 1931 ou sa XVe édition tenue en 1936.

Les clichés présentent tout d’abord quelques-unes des grandes réalisations du service producteur de l’album, le département en charge  de la construction et de l’entretien des édifices publics. Y figurent notamment le Parlement, symbole de la souveraineté égyptienne depuis que l’Angleterre a mis fin en 1922 à son protectorat sur l’Égypte, ainsi que la faculté de lettres de la jeune Université du Caire, ferment de la Renaissance culturelle du pays (Nahda). Le recueil fait aussi la part belle au monument érigé à la mémoire du leader nationaliste Saad Zaghlul entre 1928 et 1931, toujours par ce même service. Le mausolée d’esthétique syncrétique (n° 6-9), mêlant références égyptisantes (dans son décor) et références islamiques (dans sa typologie architecturale),  ne fut pas sans susciter la controverse, en raison du paganisme associé à la religion des Anciens Égyptiens. C’est l’œuvre de Mustafa Fahmy, architecte égyptien de formation française qui exerça à partir de 1928 les fonctions d’architecte en chef des bâtiments de l’État et est considéré comme le père de la profession des architectes égyptiens.  D’autres de ses réalisations, de facture néo-islamique et effectuées à titre privé cette fois, sont également illustrées dans l’album (n° 38, 39-41, 43). De façon générale, les réalisations à caractère historiciste y sont surreprésentées, reflétant l’importance acquise par la question du style national en architecture, alors que croît le mouvement égyptien d’indépendance. Érigé en 1924-1927, le siège social de la Banque Misr (n° 4) (Misr désignant l’Égypte) est un autre exemple, plus classicisant, d’architecture néo-islamique à symbolique politique, illustrant la montée en puissance du capitalisme égyptien au service du développement de l’économie nationale, la raison d’être de l’établissement bancaire et du groupe industriel auquel cette orientation donna naissance. Figurent enfin des lieux de culte, tous deux chrétiens, dont  l’Église de Saint-Grégoire l‘Illuminateur, construite en 1924-1927 par l’architecte Léon Nafilyan pour la communauté apostolique  arménienne d’Égypte.

L’autre thème de l’album est la construction privée. Plusieurs grandes demeures, à nouveau de facture néo-islamique,  y sont documentées : celle du comte de Zogheb (n° 21), érigée en 1898, ou encore celle bâtie à Héliopolis, dans la banlieue du Caire, par l’architecte Alexandre Marcel  en 1908 pour le futur sultan Hussein Kamel. De façon plus inattendue, les clichés réunis donnent également à voir des intérieurs. On y découvre ceux de plusieurs villas éclectiques, dont les pièces de réception et les salons plus intimes de l’habitation du magistrat Mugib Fathy bey. L’arrangement des pièces ne détonnerait pas dans les catalogues de décoration bourgeoise du temps : grilles en fer forgé, paravent fleuri, fleurs de lys au pochoir, bibelots chinois et tapisseries suspendues. La couleur locale est apportée par le « salon arabe » (n° 32), pièce généralement utilisée comme fumoir ou boudoir, que toute bonne maison se devait d’avoir. Tous ces décors sont signés par l’architecte égyptien Aly Labib Gabr (1898-1966), une autre figure pionnière, formée en Angleterre, et qui marqua ses nombreux élèves de l’École polytechnique du Caire où il enseigna à partir de 1924.
 

Kingdom of Egypt, Ministry of Public works, State buildings department, Photographs of various buildings in Egypt, s.d., 42 planches

[1] EI-182, bnf, Estampes et photographie